Mother’s Day…

I had to travel to the North of England at short notice last Sunday. One of my sisters called to say that my mother was not well. I cancelled my scheduled US trip and caught a train.

As my wife drove me to the station – she passed me a card. It was a Mother’s Day card. Mother’s Day in the UK is today – Sunday May 26. My wife knew I needed a card to give to my mum today. I still have the card.

My mum passed away on Tuesday. I was with her and my sisters when she left us…holding her hand and their hands. Tuesday was thirty five days after my dad passed. And ten days after his funeral. My mum was there at his funeral…she had looked radiant. Beautiful. Lovely. I love my mum.

She and my dad had been married for over sixty years. Together and inseparable. She knew my dad had gone. Even though she has suffered recently from Alzheimer’s…she knew he was no longer with us…with her. And now, somewhere somehow, they are together again. Together forever.

And here we are planning my mum’s funeral…to celebrate and remember. It just seems so soon. So soon after my dad. But yet I feel comfort in them leaving together. They were meant to be together and now they are.

My mum and my dad loved each other unconditionally and absolutely. They had four children and ten grandchildren. Their family was everything to them and they would do anything for them…for us…for me. My mum and dad had friends, good friends and best friends. Friends were essential to my parents. My parents’ friends knew what it meant to always have someone there for you.

Both of my parents have gone. Together. In a few weeks.  I have pictures. I have memories. But I don’t have either of them. I have my mum’s mother’s day card. But I didn’t even have chance to write it. She died in our arms two days after I came to see her. To be with her. To hold her. To tell her that I love her. That her children and grandchildren, our husbands, wives and partners, love her. And to say good bye.

I see my parents in me. I have their values and beliefs. I learned from them. I look like them. I was loved by them. They will be with me forever. I see my parents in my children. My own children are our future. It is their mother’s day today and they have cards to give. I bought a new card to give my wife. She had travelled north to be there with me on Tuesday. I love my wife. I need my wife.

I will never forget the moments my mum passed. She looked at us with her beautiful eyes wide open. She stared at us and listened to us as we spoke. She didn’t say anything…but she told us she loved us and that we would all be all right. She was peaceful and she was at peace.

I feel I have lost so much but I know I am lucky to have had so much. That our whole family were fortunate to have had so much. So much I will always treasure and will never forget.

I will keep the card I had with me last week. I know it is just a regular Mother’s Day card. But it was a card for a special mother. It was a card for the first person I ever loved…a card for the first person who loved me. For my mother…

For my mum…

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 29 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Mother’s Day…

  1. David Tattersall says:

    My thoughts are with Steve

    I know that this is tough

  2. Christelle Huguet Perros says:

    Dear Steve

    I am so sorry for your loss. Your parents are indeed back together somehow somewhere. Knowing they have loved each other so much and so long is wonderful. For you my friend it is hard and I am thinking of you. Christelle

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Steve, Very sad to hear about your mother. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. – John

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Robert Besthof says:

    So sorry for your loss – so soon after having lost her husband and your father.
    My condolences to you and your family.

  5. Nat Ricciardi says:

    Steve, i am very sorry to hear about your losses. They lived a wonderful life. We will pray four them.

  6. Enoch says:

    My deepest condolences, Steve. I feel as though I have met your mother because of the strength and values she has passed onto you. Peace and grace to you and your family.

  7. Julie Williams says:

    Dear Steve – what a terrible blow to you and your family. I hope it is indeed some comfort to know that your parents are not apart any longer, after a wonderful life together. I am sure they felt very loved. Take care x

  8. Nick Haire says:

    Dear Steve,
    you won’t remember me but we met at Pfizer. I admired you from afar and I’ve been a regular reader of your blog since I discovered it some years back. Your messages about the importance of family and relationships in general always strike a chord, after all, what could be more important in life? Thank you for writing once again – it can’t have been easy. I’m so sorry for the losses you and your family have experienced in these past days. Yet I’m happy for the richness of the loving relationships that you have enjoyed and which you have described so well. I look forward to reading you again. In the meantime, my sincere condolences to you and your family.
    Nick

  9. John says:

    Hi Steve, I have always loved how through your blog you help me (and I hope others) concentrate on what really matters both personally and professionally. None more so though than your recent posts regarding the passing of your parents. My thoughts are with you and your family — but I also wanted to just thank you for sharing. I am sure I am not the only one who has benefited from your willingness to be open. John

  10. sarah kelly says:

    Dear Steve
    What a loving tribute you have written to your mother. I admire your ability to share so completely your experience. My best to you and your family on the loss of both your father and your mother.
    Sarah

  11. Rachel Russell says:

    So sorry to hear about your mothers death and so soon after your father. My thougts are with you and your famiy

Leave a Reply

