Who Knew…

Most weeks something happens. Something amazing. Something exciting, rewarding, engaging, positive, laugh-out-loud funny…something truly inspiring. Some weeks moments like this happen every day to all of us…some weeks there is just that one moment.

Other moments happen also happen. Moments of frustration, disappointment, unease, sadness, worry…something truly disillusioning. Once a day or once a week…but these moments definitely happen to us all as well…

No surprise there then. But as I sat watching another dissatisfying soccer game on Saturday…at home after a busy, complex, complicated and tiring week…what struck me was the moment of the week that were still circling in my head.  Frustration was overriding amazing. Disappointment was beating enjoyment. Rewarding trailed behind unease.

Is that human nature or more specifically my nature? Or was it simply indicative of – or maybe a consequence of – other things going on in my life outside of work? Was last week any different from any other week? I started to consider…analyse even.

My immediate (re)discovery was that thinking and considering is always much better than worrying. Worrying about events that have happened is – almost by definition – wasted time, energy and emotion. I know I can’t go back and change anything that has happened already.

My first decision was to identify three things that happened last week that lined up against the amazing-through-inspiring criteria. I quickly realised this ‘decision’ also became a significant moment for me in the week. I had no problem coming up with a long list. My only challenge was to identify the top three.

My wife had travelled with me last week. This is not always the case. Amazing. My daughter was having another article published in the national press. Exciting. My son asked for help about a project at college. Rewarding.

My team met for a two-day leadership meeting where we focussed on immediate plans, future strategy, leadership and us as a team. A new member of the team excited us. An old member of the team engaged us. The whole team energised me.

New customers reached out to us to help them. Exciting. I met with an old friend who is also a client of ours. Positive. We discussed how we could better help and delight all of our sponsors.  Engaging.

I realised of course that I had cheated. I had identified three significant ‘moment themes’ and then had listed three moments in each. It was the best I could do. I also realised that I was smiling well before the end. And that as I worked through my list there were many ‘laugh-out-loud moments’…so much so that my wife had come in to see what was going on.

I felt inspired. I was inspired by my family, my team and all my colleagues.

And my wider family would have easily had their own list…a list of love and care… as we work through our recent experiences together.

My original plan had been to move on from my ‘moments’ to assess those ‘counter-moments’…those that would align against the ‘frustration-through-disillusioning’ list. But at that specific moment I just decided not to.

I didn’t want to. I didn’t need to. Next week will come round soon enough and my family, colleagues, leaders, team, family and friends will be there with me. And we know what we need to and want to deliver, do and achieve…together. Next week, this month and in the future.

So instead I stood up and went to find my wife. I wanted to talk about our inspiring moments from last week…including how wonderful it had been to have her travelling with me.

But first I just gave her a hug…

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

