Sunday Week…

Last week was a week unlike any other and a week so different from what I expected. A week when I felt confident enough about what was happening to travel a long way away in order to work..but a week when I had to turn around and come the same distance back very quickly. And it rapidly became a week of long days, short nights, and little sleep.

It was a week when I was sure I was saying goodbye to my dad for the last time several times…but it was also a week when he chose to stay with us. He is peaceful and is not in any pain. He has a strong heart and is strong willed. I am happy and thankful. I know how fortunate I am. He is my father.

It has been a week of family for family with family. A week when I was able to be with my dad and my mum. A week when my wife was immense for me. A week when I was with my daughter and then with my son as well as with both my sisters, brother, their partners, my nieces and nephews. An emotional week…a week of so many emotions…a week of so much love. It was a week of messages and emails and phone calls to each other. It was a week full of tears and laughter, of hand holding and stories, of smiles and memories and hugs, and of more tears.

I have always thought friends and colleagues who care and want to help are extraordinary. Now I know this is true. I am so grateful to my friends and my colleagues.

What I don’t know is what will happen next, or when what will happen next will happen. In truth, I am not really sure of anything at the moment. But I do know that last week we have had chance to all be together and to spend more time with my father, our dad, their grandad. These last few days have been an opportunity that we could so easily not have had. I am pleased and I am grateful.

I have always believed that family are everything and that family are always there for each other. Now I know this is true – it may even be the meaning of life. I also know I am so fortunate to have my own family, my mother, my brother and my sisters, and their families.

And my dad? I love my dad. I always will…

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 29 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Week…

  1. Nicole ORourke says:

    Hugs, thoughts and prayers to you and yours.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

