Recognition Awarded…

We celebrated our Annual Awards last week. We had a mammoth, global, virtual teleconference with every site location connected and with most attendees congregated together on each site. I normally mute all the attendees on large telecoms when anyone is presenting. Without this technology, sessions can be distracting for the audience, and presenters are easily interrupted. That was exactly what we were after for the Awards Ceremony.

I began by letting everyone on the call know that Award Ceremonies are always better when thought of as a ‘participatory sport’ – cheering and applause, as well as shouting and laughter – are essential ingredients.

Everything about these ceremonies though is about recognition – recognising the eventual global winners; recognising winners from each Site; and recognising the hundreds of individuals and teams who were nominated for what they did – and how the did – in 2016 for their friends and colleagues, their clients and projects, and ultimately for patients.

The event itself is one of my highlights of the year. But it’s a culmination of many things. The principal one being the amazing work that is done every day in every location by everyone. Every single story described in the nominations is inspiring…and they are often moving and are always uplifting. It is impossible not to smile when I sit and read them. Pride, delight, humility, excitement – all strong emotions. All great emotions to feel.

We know the sort of contribution recognised in these nominations happens all the time, but in most organisations it is less obvious. More often our focus inevitably tends to be on solving big problems, sorting major issues. But although these acts of heroics are very important, they are but a small part of what happens every day in any organisation…in our organisation.

Every day every organisation has so many people who do great things because they can, because they want to and because their teams, their colleagues, their projects and their partners need them to.  Actions that are seldom requested let alone expected, but actions that always make a difference. Actions that make a difference to not just the work we do, but to the environment and culture in which we work…in effect how we do the work

In our event last week we listened to stories of these actions being recognised and captured in the nominations. Nominations that are made our people about their friends and colleagues.

All the categories are outstanding, but the highest number of nominations we received – by a long way – were for the Heart and Soul of the year. There is a long citation describing this award, but the last line captures the essence…‘They tend to be modest in their approach but are insightful about others…our work place would not be the same without them.’

And when we announced these winners there was even more applause, more cheers, and more emotion on the call. For the winners and the nominees.

Our meeting finished a few minutes early…which gave me time to prepare for my next call. This was good news. Those few minutes gave me time to come back down to earth…to let my adrenaline dissipate…to regain my composure. That’s OK – I choose my words carefully when I say ‘…one of my highlights of the year’ – it would be more worrying if a session like this didn’t raise me up.

I sent out the announcement communicating the winners later that day. The only delay being down to us wanting to be certain that the link we included to allow access to every single nomination worked.

I was inspired and I felt proud. I still am.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recognition Awarded…

  1. Marie-Claire Peakman says:

    Hi Steve! It made me smile to see that some things don’t change. Yes, I remember being muted on all those Town Halls! Having merged Hit Discovery & Lead Profiling into a new group over the latter part of 2016 we have also just gone through our first awards ceremony since the RCoEs. The process reminded me of many things:- How much it helps to strengthen a leadership team to by sharing the stories of our work with each other; how good it is to laugh together as we choose the humorous titles and visuals for each award; how rewarding it feels to be able to recognize our colleagues for the work they do and how much our colleagues value the recognition of the organization even if it is just with a crazy title on a paper certificate above their desk! Hope you are well! With best wishes.

Leave a Reply

