New Memories…

Last week was a family week. My daughter graduated. Four years. It still feels like yesterday that we first left her – such a vivid memory. It still is. But now we have new and wonderful memories and moments – memories and moments that we all were part of…and that we all now share.

The graduation itself was fabulous; my daughter looked stunning and so happy. My wife looked stunning and so proud; my son looked so smart and so pleased. We were all there for her. It was as emotional as it was memorable.

I was in my suit and tie. I felt so proud. And happy. I am not sure about smart. My back was very sore.

In addition to graduation on Thursday, I had spent Monday and Tuesday helping my daughter move out of her apartment. Her top floor apartment. Three flights of stairs. Lots of boxes and bags and suitcases.

I was fine until the morning of the ceremony. I felt my back twinge whilst making breakfast. I did all my exercises but to no avail. I could feel the muscles tightening up. I could still walk so didn’t miss anything. My back just ached. A lot.

I knew I needed a massage to relax those muscles. They are just doing their job – tightening up to protect the spine. The simplest place to get an immediate back massage is at most airports. Presumably air travel is notorious for creating back or shoulder pain…or else there is a captive audience waiting for flights. Good to know, but no use to me in Scotland last Thursday.

Friday morning I was on the coffee and croissants run. I say run…hobble would be more accurate. But the best thing is to keep moving. On my way I spotted an ‘organic remedies’ store displaying a sign for walk in treatments.

I asked. There is no harm in asking. Unlikely I thought but worth a try. No back massage openings until 5:30pm – too late for our schedule – but the acupuncturist was available!

Acupuncture. That was another moment. Not only have I have never experienced acupuncture, I have never even considered acupuncture before that moment. Should I go for it…or pass. My head said no way. My back said try it….for goodness sake just try it. …why do you always have to be such a scientist? My back won. I went in.

My inner scientist was still talking though…it believed that if acupuncture was to do anything then relaxing muscles would be a pretty good option. Try something new. Do the experiment.

An hour – and somewhere between six and eight needles – later (I lost count)…and after something that was called – and I kid you not – ‘bloodletting’…I was finished.

And I felt so much better. My back felt much better. My muscles felt relaxed. My inner scientist was impressed. I stood up straight, paid, thanked the acupuncturist and left to find my family and tell them my story.

They were confused about what had happened to their breakfast. They were amazed when they heard where I had been. Stunned when I gave them my treatment details (minus the bloodletting).

It was a wonderful week. The memories, the happiness and the pride will last for ever. I wouldn’t have missed any of it for anything. A week for my family.

And a week when I tried something new. In the moment. Partly though necessity and partly I am sure because I was feeling more emotional – and less rational – all week. Something new that worked for me. Something new that helped me.

Trying something new is good…

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 29 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

