Big Day…

Today is an special day. It is a big day in both the UK and in the US. June 19 – third Sunday in June – is Father’s Day. It’s less obvious than it sounds. Mother’s Day takes place in March in the UK and May in the US for example. And not all countries celebrate Father’s day in June – March in Spain and May in Germany to name but two.

I have been a father for more than twenty years and have had a father for much longer than that. It is wonderful to be a father. My father is amazing.

I am a father all the time. All day…every day. I don’t often sit and reflect on what I do as a father or how well I do. It’s like most things we all do I guess…we are often just too focussed and busy ‘doing’ to contemplate or reflect. We are in the moment and the moment needs us as much as we need the moment.

I know how much I have learned – and still do learn – from my Dad. I always knew he would have an idea. It never mattered what the situation was…how complex or simple. How personal or how professional. How urgent or how relaxed. I always knew that I could rely on my dad to offer an explanation, to give me good options, to be able to help. I always knew that my dad was there for me whenever I needed it. Unconditionally.

Somehow he was always able to reassure and relax me; inspire and encourage me. Whether it was about cricket, school, home, family or life. Whatever I have achieved – everything I have done and how I have done everything – is based on what I have learned from my father. And he never set out to teach me anything. He just was who he is.

And as I sit here and reflect, you know I can’t ever remember him just telling me what to do. He probably did. I am sure he did. But he somehow managed to always do it in a way that left me thinking it was my own idea and my own decisions.

I have his values and beliefs (as well as his genes). It is inevitable. And it is wonderful. I have had very different experiences of course – and our experiences define our beliefs – but one of my defining experiences is to be his son.

Love is all encompassing and all powerful. I know that I would do anything for my children, and I know that I want to do everything for them. Always. Every day. But I also know that I can’t live their lives for them – I learned that from my dad. They don’t need me to solve every problem for them. They are inspiring. And they are defining their own lives. They are doing things I could never imagine. I feel so proud. So happy.

Once a year then I reflect. Perhaps that is what Father’s Day is all about really. Reflection is good…and is helpful.

But it’s not what Father’s Day is for. It’s not. Father’s day is a celebration. It is a day for us to feel good. About who we are, what we have become. About what we want to do next, where and how. And who with.

I don’t see my father as much as I used to…but he is with me all the time…in everything I do…just in a different way. He is there for me always…unconditionally.

I love my dad every day – not just on Father’s Day. Today is simply an opportunity for me to tell him.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

