New Batteries…

2015 has come to an end and 2016 is with us now. Monday morning we start again. Work. School. It all starts. My time at home with my family is over…and I only had to work a little here or there. I have had almost two weeks; two superb weeks. It feels too short of course, but we’ve done so much (and eaten too much and drunk too much)…and everything we’ve done feels just great. It was a time for family and a time for fun.

We went places and did things. We stayed put and did nothing. The things we did were good and no-things we didn’t do were just as good. We did lots together and some alone. We played games and watched movies. We relaxed and rewound. We chatted and we caught up. Some days we had lots of choice what to do…other days we didn’t.

In 2016 I have given up on resolutions…I could even make a case that this is my resolution – to give up on making New Year resolutions. Probably the only resolution I could ever keep. But I am very excited about the next twelve months. What we will do together. The opportunities we expect, opportunities we want to create and opportunities we will seize. Some we know about and some we don’t. Some we want and some we will try to avoid. I am excited and I am engaged.

I have learned so much from the past twelve months. So much has happened and so much we have done. Above all I have learned about the power and potential, about the importance and impact, of people. Individuals and teams.

People make things happen. People make me laugh. People give me energy. People seize those new opportunities and people solve those old problems. I learn from people and I am inspired by people. I am given ideas by friends and am gifted advice from colleagues. From new friends and colleagues, from old friends and colleagues and above all from my family.

When I think about my favourite memories of 2015…I was always with people – with my family or with my friends – friends and home or friends at work – or with both. Life and work is always better with others.

This was true in 2015 and will be true again in 2016. And of this I am certain – in 2016 I will invest my time in people and with people. Working with people and listening to people. Learning from people and being taught by people. Trying to help occasionally and certainly being helped continually.

I don’t know what our biggest challenge will be let alone the most significant change we will face. But I know something will come and something will happen. I anticipate it; I await it; and I know we have the collective ability to succeed and achieve together.

Which brings me back to my last two weeks. The good news is that we didn’t face many big challenges over the holiday season. Getting out for some exercise when it wasn’t raining maybe? And there wasn’t a great deal of change that came our way. I had to change the batteries in our house fire alarms…but that was easy enough…albeit it a little noisy! But whatever we did…we did together.

We had much family time together though and I listened a lot, thought even more and certainly learned so much as well. I didn’t have much helping to do, problems to help solve or advice to offer, but I certainly felt helped, and absolutely felt loved.

Monday is tomorrow. Here we come. I am ready.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

