Three Days…

This was a short week for me. I worked Monday to Wednesday and then took Thursday and Friday off in celebration of Thanksgiving. Fear not – the UK hasn’t started to align Public Holidays with the US just yet…rather I have long since recognised the benefit of being able to take a vacation day when the US – especially those colleagues with whom I do most of my work – also have a Public Holiday.

It has been a very quiet few days. A dramatic decrease in work related emails. Only balanced off by the vast increase in emails I received enticing me to go shopping on Black Friday…something we do seem to have ‘aligned on’ in the UK.

Monday to Wednesday was very busy…presumably due to a widespread desire to do as much of the normal five day’s work into the available three. But also it is that time of year where I have a continual stream of requests to offer feedback on individuals as part of the soon to arrive annual performance management process. I always complete these requests. And I always try to offer the best feedback – and feed forward – I can.

My own self-assessment for 2015 is due as well. I always like to complete this before the end of November. I know that the year is not yet done…but that’s why I like to review myself against what I wanted to achieve in 2015…whilst I still have time left to deliver and achieve, to do things and to change outcomes.

In many ways it is hard to imagine we are about to start December already. But December is an important month for us…crucial in fact. I always work hard in December to stay focussed on December and on this year – to be present, to contribute and to deliver as much value as possible every day. December can – and will – define this year. And next year will come along soon enough.

Inevitably there is some planning already finalised – or close to being finalised – for 2016. But I have goals and objectives for December 2015; people goals, partner goals, strategic goals, operational goals, financial goals and personal goals. Many of these – and the decisions we make around them – will help set us up for 2016 of course, but most will simply help me complete 2015 in the best way I can.

I know already that I have failed on two objectives I had for 2015. I had planned to visit the Far East and the West Coast. These trips have not happened and will not happen this year. I feel bad about both. Both are very important regions for us – great people, great partners and great opportunity. I just could not configure my schedule…I feel bad…next year though….

Every other 2015 goal and objective is still there to be achieved. Some I can still influence greatly whereas others may well be more set. But I will only rest easy about 2015 on December 31st.

Most of my personal objectives were about how I need to learn and improve as a person, a scientist, and as a leader. Again, 2015 is not yet over on my personal goals…I still have much I want to do and learn and apply.

And to that end, I have taken the opportunity presented by my shorter ‘Thanksgiving week’ (and our Performance Management technology) to seek feedback from people I have worked with this year. Participating fully in – and benefiting maximally from – this feedback process is one of my personal goals for 2015.

And I am determined to achieve my goals for 2015 in 2015…

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

