Whose Doctor…

Dr Who is one of those strange British TV programs. You either love it or you hate it. And if you live outside of the UK you have either never seen – or heard of – ‘The Doctor’…or you have watched every single episode.

Me? I am in the UK and I love it…and I have watched every episode. More specifically…we have watched every episode. My son especially got really – really – into Dr Who some ten years ago. And we have all dutifully watched every series and every episode since then. It is great family viewing for us all. We have laughed and screamed together. Complained and praised together. We have hidden behind the sofa together and we have cried together.

And Dr Who has proven to be more than a great source of birthday and Christmas gift ideas for my son….it was – and is – a family tradition. Something we can – and always will – do together on a Saturday night. Even with my daughter away at University these last three years…we have ‘watched’ together…aided by internet, text messages and FaceTime video conferencing. Dr Who has maintained it status and significance.

My wife, son and I were away together this weekend. My son started university today – Sunday – and we were there (with a car load of boxes, bags and suitcases). We were there to leave him. He was there to start his new life and to become even more of an amazing young man. We are already so proud of him words simply cannot describe it. And now, today, is his time. It is his opportunity. It is the moment he has worked so hard for, and done so well to reach. It is the start of his future. A new chapter. I am so excited for him.

And sure enough, we watched Dr Who together on the hotel TV last night after dinner. It was an excellent show…fast paced, thrilling, frightening, funny, and surprising.

One moment stuck in my mind. One moment I cannot get out of my mind. The moment The Doctor hugged the person he loved most in the world…and as he hugged her goodbye, he said his line…”Never trust a hug. It’s just a way to hide your face”.

Hugs always feel affectionate. They are more than a handshake and more than a kiss on the cheek. There is contact and connection. My wife and I have hugged our son many times these past few days. It is a time of strong emotions for us for sure. We know it is time for him to move on, and we are excited that he will meet new people. We know he will be happy, and we are certain he will do so well. But we also just can’t bear the thought of him leaving us. All those hugs have felt so good…but they have also helped us hide our faces.

We know he is eighteen and he may be well over six foot tall, but he is our little boy and he will always be our little boy.

And him leaving is a moment of such intense and conflicting emotions. It is almost unbearable. We love him – I love him – and we want him to go. We love him – I love him – and I don’t want him to go. We know he will go and he will be amazing. We know our life together will change again…and will be amazing. But it will not be the same.

And yes hugs help. Lots of hugs. They show how much we care…but they allow us to hide our faces.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whose Doctor…

  1. Tony Burgess says:

    I am in The States and I love Doctor Who. It’s a great show.

  2. Marie-Claire Peakman says:

    Run you clever boy, and remember!

  3. Calling all Dr Who geeks! lol I’m in Australia and am a big fan… but have only pulled myself out of bed for the 5 AM air time once – for the 50th. All the other ones have to wait for the rerun at 7:30 PM 🙂

Leave a Reply

