Memory Week…

Multi-tasking is a skill. Like any skill the more I practice the better I should get. I have practiced multi-tasking a great deal but still unfortunately I can’t claim any particular proficiency. Conversely my time management has improved – time management to try to avoid the need to multi-task.

But no matter how much I try… occasionally there are times of multiple activity. Last week was such a week. A week like no other. A week to remember. A week of memories.

We came back home from the US at the start of the week. A superb time away together as a family. Three weeks in total. Three weeks which meant we were fully switched onto US time and so all arrived home suffering from major jetlag. Falling asleep in the afternoon. Not getting to sleep in the evening. Waking up in the middle of the night. Makes me appreciate what my US colleagues have to go through every time they visit.

We had to be in the UK this week. My son’s final school exam results (A-Levels) were due on Thursday. In the UK, these grades dictate everything in terms of where he goes to University and what course he does. Thursday was a very important day for him…and for all of us. We all wanted to be there for him.

I was also working all week. Catching up after being away. I walked around a lot. I drank lots of coffee. And as much water as I could. It seems nervous energy helps with Jetlag – who knew? We were all nervous about Thursday. Uncertainty is tough. Waiting for significant news creates uncertainty. We can all handle good news. We can call work through bad news. Uncertainty is tough.

There were also two very important strategic meetings going on last week in the US. I really wanted to be there to participate in both, but I also wanted to be with my son on Thursday. I had to decline the meetings. I felt bad but I knew it was the right decision. Thursday was once in a life time day.

Two great allies and friends went to the strategic meetings instead of me. I felt delighted and impressed. But also guilty. And happy.

And this weekend was a family wedding. My eldest nephew. The first wedding for that generation in our family. A big day. An important weekend for my family. We had to travel Friday. Six hours driving. Two of which involved an average speed of less than 5mph.

But it was a weekend of superb memories. I think weddings are about creating memories. I have vivid memories of every weeding I have been to…even without pictures. This weekend’s wedding was a truly wonderful family event. Lots of laughter and some tears. Lots of joy and occasional sadness. Perfect speeches with some poignant moments. And so much love. Love for those who were there…and love for those who were not able to be there.

And Thursday? My son worked so hard this year. Others have been there for him – my wife – my wife amazes and inspires me. But my son did the work and took the exams. I am so proud of how well he did. Of course my feelings for him are unconditional…they aren’t based on how well he does in his exams. But I am so pleased and so proud that he will now go to the University he selected and will do the course he chose – pleased for him and proud of him.

The end of the week. A week that has created vivid memories.

A week for my family.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

