Success Planning…

I was once asked to facilitate an After Action Review of very successful project team. This team was the ‘stuff of legends’. They had successfully advanced their project from the early stages of Pre-Clinical Discovery through to First in Human evaluation and eventually to achieve a positive Proof of Concept in Patients. What’s more, they had achieved this success in a record (short) time.

The AAR was a great learning experience for me (even though I wasn’t on the project) but and the team learned a great deal for themselves – the number one goal for any AAR. Of course the wider organisation was also desperately keen to hear from the team. Everyone wanted to apply the learning to the same buttons or pull the same levers on their own projects.

Everyone outside of the team had our theories already about what made up the ‘Secret Sauce’ (although everyone’s answer was different from everyone else’s). The whole organisation was waiting. Efficacy biomarkers? Pharmacology biomarkers? Diagnostics? Team work? Drug profile? Quality of mechanism? Executive support? The list went on…and on.

And then we were there – AAR read out. A senior leadership team waiting with baited breath for the answer…desperate to launch their own teams to a higher level of performance. And even know I can vividly picture everyone’s expressions when the team leader delivered their answer. One sentence.

“We planned for failure…and hoped for success.”

Pause. Wait. Look around at everyone’s faces. Surprise? (What?) Confusion? (What on earth?) Anticipation? (There has to be more?)

There was more of course. The team had carried out a superb AAR (and I take no credit for that at all), and they had copious amounts of additional learning that they were more than happy to share with everyone – and they did. But their goal was to emphasise their philosoph – planning for failure…hoping for success.

It was simple and impactful. Most teams I have been part of will always plan for success…hope to avoid failure. Most leadership team I sit on – or have presented to – expect to hear plans for success…and would be similarly bemused by a plans for failure.

Early in their AAR, the team shared the detailed plan they had developed to achieve their goal. I recognised immediately I was viewing an exquisite plan. Created by an experienced, capable and high performing team. I was in awe….and more than a little jealous!

But their team philosophy prevented them from simply executing against this plan. Doing so would have been planning for success – assuming that their first (or even their best) plan will work as designed, and therefore investing everything in this plan. The team philosophy – planning for failure – had driven them to prepare multiple contingency and back up plans…each of comparable detail and quality.

The team had used their experience and ability to assess all potential failure points in their plan…moments where science or research could go against them. And for each ‘event’, they detailed what they would do and who would be involved. I had never seen this level or quality of advance planning before…and never have since!

Most teams have a plan…but we seldom have desire or time – or both – to plan for any contingencies, let alone all likely contingencies. We all know that our plans will never play out in the way we predict, and yet we still rely on our ability to solve problems when they arrive. Even though experience shows this approach is inefficient…and can often fail.

I wasn’t able to keep the AAR slide deck of course…but I still have the memory…

I just need to apply that learning…

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Success Planning…

  1. Thanks for sharing this insight that is both able to be applied immediately and short enough for me to remember for future–I hope! I often get behind reading my RSS feeds but must have been looking for inspiration this Monday morning…and I found it. Thanks and best wishes, Steve Roberds

    • Steve Street says:

      Steve – great to hear from you and thank for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed and found of some value.

      Also trust you are well and are enjoying yourself…I know you will still be doing great work.

      Cheers

      Steve

Leave a Reply

