Father’s Thoughts…

Today is Father’s Day in the UK. And in the USA. And in many other countries. Not every country…but many. There is more consistency about Father’s Day than Mother’s Day. I don’t understand the inconsistency on Mother’s Day. But at least most countries celebrate both days.

I am a very proud father and a very happy father. When I look at my children I find myself remembering and wondering. I remember what they were like and what we did together. I wonder what else they will do and what else they will achieve. And I only ever smile. At both sets of thoughts. The past and the future. Perhaps that’s what pride is? How you feel in those moments. How those thoughts make you feel. The depth and strength of those feelings. Or is it love?

Sometimes I find myself wondering what my father thinks and what he feels when he looks at me, or my brother or my sisters, or our children. Sometimes I wonder if I should ask him. But I don’t need to. I know. Not everything needs to be said.

But I do tell him; and not just on Father’s Day and not just by a card. I don’t buy him gifts any more – he doesn’t need any more ties or cufflinks – but I do tell him. I tell him that I love him and that I am proud of him…and that I know.

And I see myself in my children. More specifically I see myself in things my children do that amaze me and inspire me. And yes, this is one of the prerogatives of being the father.

I have always tried to encourage my children to make positive decisions…to follow their hearts and their heads. Our education system involves lots of choices – courses, subjects, locations – decide what you enjoy most…what inspires you most…and use those decisions to make your choices. Ask opinion and seek advice wherever possible – from people who know you and love you – but make your own choices.

And even now I can hear these same words coming from my father. The self-same encouragement he gave me as I was making education and career and life choices. And his focus was always on encouragement and never on advice. He knew I had more than enough advice from other sources. Advice from teachers…teachers who told me – including my school chemistry teacher – that choosing chemistry to study at University would be the worst decision I could ever make.

And yet everything I have done and everyone I met – including the person I fell in love with, married, and became a father with – everything I have done, or contributed to, or had influence on…came from that decision. And other comparable key decisions and moments in my life and my career. Choices made based on what I enjoy, what inspires me and who inspire me.

Of course, not everything worked out quite as well as we would have hoped. Stuff happens…or does not happen. It always does. But that feeling of positive choice is such a good starting point.

I want to be important to my children; but more than that, I want to be there for them…to be there when they need me. To encourage them when they need encouragement; to advise them if they want advice; to hold their hand when they need a hand. For them to know I am with them and am there for them, as they make their own choices…in their own lives.

My children amaze me and they inspire me. I love being a father today. I love being a father every day.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 29 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Father’s Thoughts…

  1. Don Evans says:

    Hi Steve,

    Happy Father’s Day! I enjoyed the article.

    We need to catch up at some point. Lots of changes at Covance. I hope all is well with you.

    Regards,

    Don Evans Discovery Search Partners 267-266-0947

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Freedberg, Jared says:

    This was my favorite post. And you’ve had some great ones!

    Happy Fathers Day!

  3. Rob Leach says:

    I have to agree, definitely touched a chord here on so many levels. i always enjoy reading Steve’s posts and this was no exception.

Leave a Reply

