Done Deal…

The deal is done. Everything completed on schedule last week – Wednesday and Thursday to be precise. The big deal is a done deal. We are a new company. More specifically we are a new business within a new company. It was a busy week for sure. Early starts and late finishes each day. What felt like ten-fold more email sent and received, read and reviewed. Meetings, calls, texts and even one or two videos.

I was on site in the UK all week. On Monday I wondered how I would feel on Friday. On Friday I wondered what on earth was I thinking on Monday. Everything happened – best I could tell according – to plan. A lot of effort from a lot of people went into the plan for the week.

So how did I feel on Friday? I stopped thinking about the events and started to think about today. And tomorrow. That was the answer. I was thinking about tomorrow and next week and next month. I was thinking opportunity, new ideas, new analysis. I was imagining. I felt excited. I felt engaged.

I was also thinking people. We had lots of news about people this week. Some superb news about fantastic people who will be in amazing roles as we move forward. Exciting news about people I have not yet met – people who, I am certain, are also fantastic – who will be in amazing roles as we move forward. And some news about people I know really well who will be in amazing roles…but just not necessarily amazing roles with us.

I felt excited about the announcements as I sat on Friday. I also felt very positive about the people news…all the people news. I wondered why. Why not happy (for some) and sad (for others)? Why not pleased for some and worried for others? Why just positive?

Well, part of it is that I had seen and read lots of information. I even made sure I had time to watch the CEO video (twice). I listened to everything and asked questions. Part of it is because I can see the opportunities we have in front of us. Opportunities for us as individuals and as teams, but even more so the opportunities we have to partner even better and even more and even more successfully with all of our customers in all our client segments across our whole new company.

I can recognise how the combination of this overflow of information combined with the new directions that are open to us, is a powerful combination to help me engage and enthuse about the changes happening around us and to us.

But there is one aspect that I know made an enormous difference to me this week. It is the support of people. People I love, people I know and people I trust…and even people I don’t know…reaching out and asking how I am doing. It always makes me feel so positive. I feel great when people thank me, or congratulate me. I feel amazing when people ask me about me. It is all support, and we all need support.

And it can happen in the most unexpected ways from the most unexpected people. A call to my cell phone from someone who I knew was unbelievably busy. A word or two in a phone call from a sponsor and friend I was supposed to be engaging and exciting. An unexpected email. Social media connection requests from new colleagues.

And I felt good because I had fed forward. I sent notes, pictures; I rang, I texted and I invited.

It’s always the people…

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

