Team Incarnate…

Teams are an impressive thing to observe. Good teams are even better to observe. Great teams are a joy to be part of. Like many things we experience, it is not always obvious how good a team may be either until something happens – something that can only be solved by outstanding team work – or until a moment arises when we can compare our team to another. Another distinct team…or a previous incarnation of our own team.

I had a great deal of time last week to consider various teams that I am part of or that I get chance to observe. I flew. I was in a hotel. I worked. I flew back. But I saw teams everywhere. Some teams I recognised, some were new (to me). I was impressed, and tired, and happy.

Our role in the biopharmaceutical industry requires a commercial team. For our business to be successful, and for us to make a positive difference to the biopharmaceutical industry, we need our commercial team to be both outstanding, and an outstanding team. To borrow (and ruin) a sporting quote, a great individual can win a day, a great team wins the year.

I watched our commercial team in action all year. I saw our commercial team come together last week. There was support and friendship. Challenge and debate. Laughter and tears (from joy and sorrow). There were veterans and brand new members. They were superbly lead. They were engaged. And we celebrated them and their performance. They deserved every minute. They enjoyed every second. 2015 is a new year and will be full of new opportunities. I was inspired and I am confident.

I also saw a new team come into view. A small number in the room last week, representing a much larger team who are working to deliver a new opportunity. To say I am excited about what this opportunity will allow us to do with our partners is an understatement! I was so impressed by what this team have achieved, described, and will achieve.

We notice the highlights, we are attracted by how much we are engaged in the sessions and we are absorbed by the solutions brought forward. We don’t see the hours of work beforehand. The ‘insurmountable problems’ that have been solved. The ‘it’s how we do things’ that have been overcome. The ‘we’ve tried this before and it didn’t work’ that have been left on the roadside. It is hard work. It is individuals excelling in their own work and exceeding together. It was a time to sit back and admire. To feel so proud and so fortunate.

Sometimes it can be harder to celebrate and recognise teams. But it is all the more important. It can be difficult to delineate who does what in a team. Yet still we try. But why? The team is the value. The output is the impact. The partner is the beneficiary. Teams are based on trust and confidence. I am with you. You are there for me. Great teams don’t need much, but all teams gain from recognition. And reflection from outside, from a more distant – or neutral – observer, is only ever of enormous value.

Our teams never relax. Our desire to do more and better is ingrained. We celebrate and we champion. We are mortified and despondent if we don’t quite reach what we set out to achieve. But we never give up. We pull together, we resolve together and we solve together.

The next opportunity is in front of us. The next project needs our focus. The next partner needs our support. The next patient is waiting.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 29 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

