Twenty Seven…

It happens every year. Once a year. A couple of days before the end of November. It is not Thanksgiving…but it often overlaps with Thanksgiving. And it is not England winning at rugby (although that did happen this weekend this year). And it is not my birthday – that is still to come in December.

It is a time for celebration. And a time for contemplation. It is a time for memories and photographs…for stories, smiling and for laughing. Twenty seven years ago was the day we were married. I feel good and I feel happy.

Twenty seven is just a number. One more that twenty six and one less than twenty eight. But yet it feels like yesterday. It was sunny and warm in the UK for November. We had such fun with our friends and our families. We saved for months. We had nothing left. We planned for weeks. The speeches. The meal. The service. Everyone. Everything. My suit and tie. My wife’s dress. A friend taking the photos. Crossing the English Channel to Paris on the Sunday. It was sunny and freezing cold in France for November. I can remember it all.

My father took a detour to get a new car aerial on the way to the reception (don’t ask). My sister left early after a possible break-in at her home. My mother cried. My mother-in-law cried. Everyone laughed. We have all the photos…some on the wall and some in albums. From the day; from Paris, France. Such memories. Such a day. A day to celebrate. It is one of the most important days in my life. A short list – the day we met; the day we married; my daughter’s birth day; my son’s birth day.

Other days are significant and other events are memorable. Moments with friends or with our families. At home or at work. Big days and sad days. Momentous days and happy days. But family is first. My wife. My confidante. My mentor. My love. And my children.

We always celebrate. We were married eight years after we first met. I remember the exact moment I first saw her. I know where and when. I don’t have a picture…but I don’t need a picture. We have grown up together. We have become a family together. I feel happy and excited. We celebrate and we feel good. I love and I feel loved.

And looking forward is always so exciting. We don’t know what…or where. But we do know who with. It will be amazing. Not matter what and no matter where. We will do it together. She is always there for me and everything I do, I do for her.

There is always change…more than we recognise. Change at work and at home. We all cope with change. We all handle change. Support and care, friendship and love all help. Family and true friends are unconditional. Family and friends are there for us…just as we are for them. Whatever happens and whatever we do. They help me no matter what we see in front of us. All our biggest decisions we made together. All our hardest choices. All our successes.

We can’t predict our future. We know it will be different, but it will be even better and even more remarkable. Unpredictable, remarkable and better because those moments and memories start from unexpected. We will create our own future because we always create our own future. Choices and decisions we make and take together. How we adapt and how we evolve.

Year twenty eight has already started. It will be wonderful, unpredictable and extraordinary. And we will be together.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 29 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Twenty Seven…

  1. Martin Edwards says:

    Congratulations and all the best for the next 28!

  2. Earl Major says:

    Congratulations, My Friend. God bless and keep you all.

Leave a Reply

