Four Flights…

I flew four times this last seven days. To the USA and back. And to Scotland and back. I was in the US for our annual budget review. We were in Scotland to visit my daughter. Four flights in seven days is probably two too many. But I had to be present for the budget and I wasn’t going to miss Scotland. And in between the trips we had an exciting event at my son’s school where he was awarded a prize he won last year.

A busy week. A tiring week. An amazing week. A week for family. A week for work. A week like many others.

The budget discussions were very good and the team presented themselves – and the large team we represented – very well. At this time of year we have everything to play for in terms of 2014 budget and we are full of anticipation for 2015. I had an extra day in the US as well. And I used that to rekindle personal relationships in person. I talked business, family and friends with business partners who are also friends. I spend a great deal of my time talking to people on the telephone or via email…it is a great deal to get time to talk to some of them in person. I try really hard to get this face time on a regular basis.

My flight back to the UK was on time but was a late night flight. It was also very fast as there were strong winds blowing us home. I probably managed about four hours sleep. I felt fine the next day back in the UK until around about 9:00pm when I suddenly felt so tired I could hardly get upstairs let alone get to bed. I slept so well and woke up feeling so much better, so refreshed, and ready to go. I looked at my clock and was surprised to see it said 1:15am – I had only been asleep for about three hours! I managed to get some more sleep that night…but it was all stop-start.

School prize giving is a very British event. The closest we have to graduation ceremonies. The head teacher makes a speech and a visiting dignitary presents the prizes. And then the visiting dignitary makes a speech. I was there as a very proud father. We were there as very proud parents. We held hands and smiled at each other as he went on stage. My son took it all in his stride.

Getting to Scotland on Saturday involved another early start to drive to the airport. The flight was short and smooth. The visit was short and superb. My daughter is doing so well. And Scotland is such an amazing place to visit….even just for one day and one night. We leave for home this lunchtime.

Leaving is always emotional. But only ever because the visits are so amazing. We walked, smiled, ate, laughed, drank and all enjoyed ourselves. We climbed hills and breather fresh air. We took photos and watched the sun set. The weather was wonderful and the family were together. I was there as a very proud father. We were there as very proud parents. There was much hand holding and smiling. My daughter was happy. My son took it all in his stride.

A week for work and a week for family. In many ways a week like many others but in so many so important ways a week like no other.

It is special to have special time with my family. Moments and Memories. Special people. My people.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

