Some Days…

Some days are better than others. A track from one of my favourite albums. But also a pretty good description for most weeks. Better than others is a relative scale. One of the reasons why the description works so well.

I was in the mid-west last week. It was cold. Bitterly cold. I had to pack extra clothes – something that always stresses my ‘carry-on luggage’ only rule. But I managed it. I always get to my destination when I travel, and so if my suitcase is always with me then it will get there as well. There is only one exception. Many internal US flights operate a ‘gate check’ policy for luggage. I drop my case at the plane door. It is moved to the hold. And is returned to me when we disembark. So far I have had no problems.

I have to be prepared though…I have to remember to take anything that I need before I get onto the plane. Headphones are the obvious. Music always helps pass the time. No matter how long or short the flight.

Some days I just go with random selection. Other days I chose. Thursday I chose. I was on route to Chicago for my overnight flight back to the UK. Thursday had been a long day at the end of a busy week. I have had better days.

I really enjoy the work that I do. It engages me and stimulates me. It makes me think. Deeply and differently. But the people I work with make it all worthwhile. They make the difference. They engage and stimulate me. They ask and suggest. Cajole and challenge. Grow and develop. Delight and demand. Without the people we work with my role would be nothing. No fun and no value.

We invest in our people and they invest in us. We spend time with them, and we learn about them…and from them. And sometimes people leave. Sometimes they tell us they will leave. Sometimes we ask them to leave. And sometimes we agree to separate. Sometimes the departure is abrupt and sometimes it is arranged. But whatever the situation, those days are always harder than others. Thursday was a harder day than others. I needed music to fly with at the end of the day.

Hard days are better when you talk in person. One of the reasons I was pleased I spent the day in the mid-west in the cold. I had a schedule for the day and met lots of people. Even on a hard day there will be good moments to balance the not so good. And even on hard days it is the people who always make the difference. People hear, and listen, and respond to news. It is always a surprise. No matter what anyone may say. It is in the name. News is new.

And whenever someone leaves it is important to respect, to recognise and to appreciate. And the focus for us all inevitably turns to the future. What happens next? Whether we are leaving or whether we are staying. What will we do? How will we do it? Who will we do it with?

And as I sat waiting to fly, I realised that everything comes full circle. The answer to my questions…to every question…is people. We will succeed in what we do because of who is there with us. Because of our families – whose love is unconditional. Because of our friends – who never judge us. And because of our colleagues – who always partner with us.

I chose a different song. Uplifting and positive. Forward looking. We accelerated and took off…

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 29 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

