Emma Who…

In the last few years, I have met a number of famous people. Often in an airport lounge. That having been said…I have never had much of a conversation with anyone famous…although Gwyneth Paltrow once said 6 words to me…‘are you connected to the internet’. And I once said 6 words to Anne Hathaway…‘you are my daughter’s favourite actress’.

Photographic evidence goes a long way when I tell stories of my celebrity encounters. It’s not that my friends and family don’t believe me…it’s more that they like to see pictures. But getting a celebrity picture would normally involve a conversation…

We went to London on Friday. It was our annual family trip to watch a London West End show. This is something of a tradition we have done as a family this time of year for the last 14 years. Over the years we have migrated from The Snowman, through We Will Rock You to Les Miserables and this year The Commitments.

We always go for a matinee and wherever possible get lunch before the show. And it was at lunch that we saw none other than Emma Watson – she of Harry Potter fame. I didn’t realise Ms Watson was there until I spotted that everyone in the restaurant seemed to be nodding towards the same table (behind me).

True to form, I didn’t speak to Emma (and neither did she to us). But by some amazing luck (98%) and minor amount of design (2%) I managed to take her picture walking across the restaurant behind my wife and daughter (who were both smiling into my camera at the time). I have photographic evidence!

This is a good time of year for tradition and I like tradition, or more specifically, traditions we have created ourselves for ourselves….like the West End trip.

Another tradition this time of year is that I work hard not to do any work! This is always one of my toughest traditions but is also one of my most enjoyable and rewarding.

With so much of our work going on 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, it is maybe not strange that it is hard work for me not to work. On the other hand, the majority of people that I do most of my work with, or for, are also take time off work at this time of year and so most days my inbox is populated only by invites to attend conferences in exotic locations.

So this helps. Email is virtually silent this time of year. Even quieter if I didn’t turn it on of course, but (even at this time of year) I am not sure I believe in miracles. But it is important for us all to take the break. And these holidays are time to do things with families…to do things for families.

2014 will be a momentous year. Every year is a momentous year. Just think back to this time last year and what we were hoping for, or expecting. Just think about what actually did happen…and what didn’t happen. 2014 will be the same – every New Year is always the same. Some fantastic things occur and some awful things. Some personal. Some family. Some in work. And some at home. Some we want…and try hard to make happen. Some we don’t want…and try hard to avoid.

The reassuring thing is that we cope. We always cope. We love and savour the things we like; we handle the things we dislike. We come through stronger, wiser and better.

So yes I am working hard at not working over the Holidays…and I am loving it!

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 29 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emma Who…

  1. Earl Major says:

    Dr. Street:

    Three words: Get Some Rest.

    Warmest Regards,

    Earl

Leave a Reply

