Flat Pack…

I have been in Scotland. We are dropping my daughter off at University for her second year. In so many ways, last year when she started seems so long ago. But at the same time – like so many things with family – it feels like only yesterday.
 
Last year was emotional for everyone. This year was too. But a different set. Or maybe the same set of emotions but in a different ratio. Excitement. Anxiety. Wonder. Worry. Pressure. Pride. And this was just me. We were all here again – my wife and son and me – to see our daughter (and his sister) off on another great adventure.
 
My biggest pressure was having to construct a flat-pack closet-wardrobe in two hours. Every time I swear never again! My biggest pride was my daughter. Everything she does every day amazes me. And my son – caring and kind and simply inspiring. And my wife. Who I love.
 
We depart Sunday. We go home. Or to New Jersey. I am off to Headquarters to present on our work to our Board. How do I feel? The same set of emotions but in a different ratio. Excitement. Anxiety. Wonder. Worry. Pressure. Pride… just about sums it up.
 
I am proud of how far we have come together…as a team. And I am excited to have chance to talk about our people and our work in this setting. I am anxious that I represent the team in they way they all deserve. There is definitely some pressure to do well. I am worried I have no pictures in my slide deck. I wonder what the board will be like. What they will be interested in. And what questions they will ask.
 
The role of the Board of Directors in a company always struck me as intriguing. At the highest level I believe a Board’s role is to govern an organization by establishing policies and objectives for that organization. A significant responsibility – not least since Company Directors are also expected to protect the interests of shareholders and to ensure those same shareholders receive a decent return on their investment.
 
And yet – more often than not – Company Directors are not paid, and nearly always have a number of such roles at the same time. Even more reason why I am looking forward to meeting our Board – they are very impressive!
 
My session with the Board this week is – of course – all about them listening to me; hearing where we are, where we have come from and where we want to go…and how. But it will still be intriguing and interesting to hear what they say, what they ask, what they are thinking and what they suggest…what they like and what they don’t.
 
The test of success for me is how I feel when I leave. Will I leave the Boardroom feeling elated, enthused and inspired? I hope so. Will I leave and challenged, encouraged and informed? I am sure. Much of what happens I can’t control…I can only influence. My responsibility is to focus and to deliver. I have to listen and to respond.
 
As I left Scotland this morning I was distraught. My daughter is everything I could want, and this is her time and place. She has genuine friends, and a she is studying the subjects she has loved since she was three years old. I know all this and I am the absolute personification of a proud father, but leaving her today is every bit as hard as it was on her first day at school. She is my little girl and she always will be.
 
Cheers
 
Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flat Pack…

  1. Mireille says:

    I remember when your daughter started secondary school and joined her friend at the bus stop 15 minutes ahead of schedule on her first morning. Hasn’t time flown!!!
    Board members are interesting to listen to. I am always amazed at their knack of asking the question which will bring the discussion to a different angle. And it’s always interesting to listen to their disagreement. As I only take the minutes, I don’t need to worry about the impact of the discussion, my role being only and solely to produce an accurate account of the meeting through my minutes.
    I’m enjoying reading your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

