Broken Leg…

The good news? My leg is not broken. I did twist my knee mind you, and – despite much feedback – I am still wearing a support on that knee. My mistake was one of those errors that you simply can’t believe when it happens. I tried to walk down a short flight of stairs with wet flip-flops and sunglasses. One foot slipped. The other bent the wrong way. My left knee slipped and bent the wrong way…and twisted.
 
Once I got over the embarrassment – and relief that nothing was broken – I realised that I had caused an impressive amount of injury to my knee. No working out, bicycle riding or tennis playing for me this week. Cold compress and elevation were the order of the day…and each day since.
 
But I did manage to break a leg this week. A chair-leg. I am adamant it was a faulty chair. My family remain convinced that I was rocking dangerously and that I was lucky I only broke the chair leg (as opposed to my knee I guess).  The chair is definitely broken though – of that there is no doubt.
 
In truth I am still in denial about the chair (and the wet flip-flops). I just can’t believe both of these things happened…and in the same week. Denial is not a bad place to be. It is easier than having to come to terms with whatever has happened that’s for sure.
 
When stuff happens – big things, small things, personal things, business things. Emotions can be high. Feelings strong. Everything ranging from anger to guilt…from delight to gloom…from frustration to joy. I certainly felt like shouting loud and long about my twisted knee and my broken chair!
 
There is no right way of handling significant events although there does seem to be a few ‘watch outs’.
 
Information is paramount. The more information we can give and share the better. Everything helps. At work, I consciously try to pass on as much information as I can by any means. I also read everything that is communicated, attend every Town hall and watch every web cast. My desire for information is insatiable. What happened? Why? How? How do we prevent next time? At home, I keep looking at those stairs and that chair…there has to be a clue…somewhere!
 
Support is crucial. We all need support. Some more than others and some less. And it is almost impossible to predict which. I seek out people to talk to about things that are going on. Friends and family. People who care about me and who I trust. People I know will support me. People I know who will support me even when I don’t realise I need their help and advice!
 
Times of pressure are often times when we revert to our preferred style of operating. If we are naturally more ‘command and control, then that is what people will experience. If we are intuitively consensus driven then consensus it will be! When we are under pressure we have less time to consider our options and we react more instinctively. Another watch out for me – another place where friends, family, allies and mentors can and always do help me. They see me; they know me and they are willing to hold a mirror up to me.
 
My knee is better after a few days rest. The chair leg is repairable. No harm is done and we have still had a superb week. We are all passionate about our families and our friends. We care immensely about our partners and our work. Stuff happens – it’s how we handle it that matters.
 
Cheers
 
Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 29 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broken Leg…

  1. Mireille says:

    Thank you. Just what I needed to read/be told

Leave a Reply

