Starting Tomorrow…

Vacation is good. In fact vacation is better than that. Vacation is very good…I like vacations…I enjoy my vacations…I feel better for my vacation.
 
My vacation is family time. It is time to re-balance. Spend time just doing simple things with my family and friends. Things we don’t always get chance to do together throughout the year. Beach is good. Bicycle is good. Bathing is good. Best of all is just being together.
 
These are special moments. My family means everything to me. Families are unconditional. They are not based on the job we do or the salary we earn. They are family. My family is there for me.
 
The good news…or bad news as the case may be…is that these days it is very easy to stay connected. WiFi; 3G; Instant Messenger; Cell phones. I don’t tend to worry about it. A few minutes here or there keeping in touch is easy to do…and these few minutes mean I think less about what could be happening because I know. And in reality I also know that – despite what we may like to think – the world of work moves on very nicely without us. None of us are that irreplaceable. The only thing that no-one else can do but me is to sign my signature.
 
Vacations also give me chance to think. To clear my mind and to think deeper and to think longer. Even – sometimes – better. This is all about time. I have more time on vacation. Days are longer. Evenings calmer. More time to collect my thoughts and to consider. Sometimes personal. Or family. Or work. But always more valuable because I can take more time.
 
In our day to day world it is too easy (and sometimes very important) for us to think about that day – today’s issues and problems…this afternoon’s ideas and opportunities. But I like (and I believe it is very important) for us to take some time to think further ahead. Next year. Two years…five years.
 
I know we can’t predict the future – on the face of it, there’s no way I would have predicted where I am today two years ago. But on the other hand, I am happy. I am with my family. I am enjoying myself. I am learning all the time and I am growing. I learn at home and I learn at work. I learn about myself, my family, my friends. My company and my industry. I learn about people and I learn about myself.
 
People define us – people who we spend time with and who we some influence on. Whatever we give them they magnify. Whatever we ask they exceed. Whatever we imagine they amaze. And they magnify, they exceed and they amaze every day whether we are there or whether we are not.
 
I satisfy (or is it reassure) myself by knowing I have had some small part to play somewhere along the way. I delight myself by knowing that these people – family at home and family at work – will continue to grow and develop and deliver. They will continue to re-define themselves and define what is possible. Whatever I think they will make real. Whatever limits I create they will surpass.
 
We have already come a long way together. We have achieved great things and have had such fun. Our next big adventure is ahead of us – it is always ahead of us. But it will be amazing. It will be exhilarating. Better than yesterday, better than last week and better than last year.
 
It will start tomorrow. I can’t wait.
 
Cheers
 
Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Starting Tomorrow…

  1. Earl Major says:

    My Dear Steve,

    Downtime is the right time to dream the next big dream. When the downtime is over, it’s time to make that dream come to fruition. Well said, My Friend.

    Earl

  2. Claire says:

    Vacation is family time. That’s true.
    Vacation is time to think. Very true.
    But vacation is too a very good time for economy. At least it is true here, in France.
    As you know, in the European Union, each country has at least 4 work weeks of paid vacation. Incredible for american managers. A nightmare for most of them… Thus in France, we’ve got 5 weeks when in the USA, there is no legally required paid vacation.
    Paid vacation is an heritage of the “Front Populaire”. In 1936, workers had 2 weeks of paid vacation , 3 in 1956, 4 in 1968 and since 1982, they’ve had 5.
    Due to the so-called “tourisme de masse”, french people had to develop :
    – rail and transport (roads, highways, air transport and facilities like planes or TGV )
    – structures for tourism (hotels, campings, guesthouses, restaurants, etc…)
    – cultural activities in summer for tourists (Theatre in Avignon, Puy du fou, voted best world’s theme park in Los Angeles, 3D mapping video on listed building by Easyweb, a french company..)
    – summer camps for children.
    – sports (“ski alpin” in Chamonix in 1897, surf in Biarritz in 1957, boating, etc…)
    Securised means of transport and lots of spare-time activities are good manners for touristic development. Besides, activities like the “Fête de la musique” (1982), “Paris Plage” (2002) and “Vélib” (2007) are heritages of a certain social way of thinking. They now sound like very good business plans for our economy, don’t you think?
    Nowadays french volunteers dedicate part of their annual leave to development work in another country so-called solidarity holidays. The circle is now complete. Solidarity for all workers to go in holidays in the past ; workers going in solidarity holidays today…

    So vacation is good for a lot of important things : family, thought, economy, altruism.
    Vacation is the way to think differently.
    It starts now. Let’s take the time.

    Kindest regards from Porcheville,

    Claire

    • Steve Street says:

      Claire

      This is really excellent. And realy very interesting in explaining the backdrop to annual leave in France

      Thank you and I trust you thoroughly enjoyed your vacataion

      Cheers

      Steve

Leave a Reply

