Yearly Middle….

It’s my mid-year review next week. Wednesday to be precise. The good news is that by good fortune rather than design, I will be able to sit down with my boss in person. This is not essential for a quality mid-year, but face-to-face meetings do tend to be a better experience all round.

I am not sure I really remember when mid-year reviews first appeared on the scene as a key part of our ‘people calendar’. But I do remember that my first experiences were informal, quick conversations that felt like much more like some sort of box checking exercise than they did anything likely to add value to my performance.

With this as background, I am very pleased that mid-year reviews have improved and have taken on much more significance in recent years. For an organization this makes total sense since the review allows for discussion and adjustment of goals that – by definition – were set six months ago. Six months is a long time in our industry and in our business. Taking a moment to help ensure we have the right colleagues in the right roles with the right skills and that we are all making progress in the right direction – and that we are happy – has to be a good idea.

OK – but what about me? What do I get out of my own mid-year review? Well…like everyone else, I want to do a great job. I want to be part of a winning team. I want to be adding value to the team and I want to be delivering as an individual. I want to feel engaged. I want to know I am growing and developing. I want to have fun. I want to be happy. I want to be excited. I want to be inspired.

My mid-year guarantees me a way of finding out how I am doing…from my boss’ point of view as well as from my own. As I walk to the session, I can’t help imagining a review where I discover I am doing well, that I am delivering all those things and that there are amazing opportunities coming my way in the second half of the year.

Back in the real world…this never happens! And even if it did I know that it wouldn’t be of that much benefit (even if it felt nice in the moment). I already know there are many aspects of my role and components of my performance where I can – and should – do better.

And it is always helpful to know how my work looks to someone else. It is important to hear and to discuss topics, areas and themes where I can improve. Moreover, it is fantastic to hear about them early enough in the year to start…or to stop; to adjust…to do more…or less. After all, my starting point is an insatiable desire to do great job.

I also like to use my mid-year review to let my boss know aspects of his or her performance as my coach, ally and supervisor that I would like more of…or less. I also use my mid-year to highlight and discuss new ideas or opportunities I have been thinking about.

So, Wednesday it is. I have submitted my self assessment. I will be nervous when we sit down. But that’s good. It means my mid-year assessment is of both importance and significance for me. I know mid-year reviews are only part of the people-process…and that there is no substitute for engaged, caring and consistent supervision, management and leadership…but I am still looking forward to our discussion.

Wish me luck….

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yearly Middle….

  1. Leslie Sloan says:

    Good luck 🙂

    And thank you for teaching me important things about people management, including but not limited to, what’s important about mid-year and end-year reviews.

    Cheers,
    Leslie

Leave a Reply

