Hold Faith…

I had chance last week to travel with a friend at work. This is an amazing opportunity. Rather that our normal schedule where we get an hour to chat by phone once a week, supported by email, instant messaging and group meetings, we had several days in each other’s company. In cars, airports, planes in restaurants, in work and cars again. By the end of the week, I felt tired, energised, informed and excited. We had discussed work, politics, health, sport, family, travel…and work again. We had new ideas. Shared experiences. Unexpected opportunities.

As I sat in my final car journey home, I came to a conclusion – not a very startling conclusion I hasten to add – that change does not happen quickly. Or to be more precise, that change does not happen as rapidly as we want it to.

Events happen quickly. Recognition of events as they take place happens even faster. But change – our response to events – has its own speed. And there is an inevitability about this speed.

There is copious amounts of literature on change – coping with, rate of, managing, measuring, enjoying, recognising, inducing…and so the list goes on. If I had more time I would like to read more of these articles…but maybe I am too busy coping and managing…or enjoying?

At the end of my week, and after considering many situations or opportunities I have been involved in, I realised a common theme – that change is ‘complicated’. And that complicated almost always means a lack of simple solutions, the need to avoid unintended consequences, and an overall delicate balance. Again, this is nothing unique to me or our industry – we only have to look at any other sphere of life – politics, health, sport, family, travel – to realise that transformational change is complicated and takes time.

And yes we agreed it’s important we don’t just sit back and wait for stuff to happen. We have to put ourselves out there and work towards our goal, but similarly we can not – nor should not – expect miracles to happen in just one week.

I know this…and yet I still find myself expecting instant success or impact…whether it be my favoured political leader; my fitness levels improving; my favourite team starting to win, my work…or even our beloved industry.

And we also recognised risk. That rather than persevering, we can be too ready to switch to a new goal, a new way of working, or just something different in hope that it might yield faster results. Worse still…that our inevitable focus on what is in front of us leads us to miss the moment to celebrate the amazing distance we already will have undoubtedly travelled.

So as we journeyed together, my friend and I took time to reflect on where we have come from. Changes we have experienced and those we have introduced. Changes we have lead and those we have followed. Successes we have had and scenarios in need of improvement. We realised we are inherently restless to get to where we want to be (and believe we need to be) as quickly as possible. We see so much opportunity and just as much need.

But we also agreed that speed is good but successful change requires attention, resource and support. Big wins don’t happen easily. They take time.

And as we reflected together we realized how far we have come – as individuals, today, as teams, last year, together, tomorrow. We smiled. Indeed we celebrated.

And then we recommitted. None of us are satisfied. We want more and better for everyone around us. We will stay focused. We will celebrate more.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 29 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hold Faith…

  1. Thank you Steve. I recently conducted a project with a former colleague of yours and he mentioned to me that he considers you a mentor. I am beginning to understand why. I have benefited from your blogs over the past 9 months and am now embarking on change for myself. A move onto or back into a more refined, assertive business culture, one where human capital is valued, challenged and mentored. TF

Leave a Reply

