Numerical Advantage…

Getting older is a strange thing. On Tuesday of last week I went to the fitness center bright and early (well cold and early to be more precise) and worked out. On Thursday I went to the same fitness center at the same time on an even colder morning and did exactly the same work out on the same machine. But on Thursday the machine flashed an alarm at me saying that my heart rate was too high.

Funny thing was that Thursday’s peak heart rate was exactly the same rate as I had reached during my Tuesday work out – without an alarm. So what was the difference? Well Wednesday was the difference. I didn’t go to the fitness center on Wednesday because it was my birthday. I had a selection of very nice cards and presents to open that morning before work.

On Thursday morning as I started my exercise, I entered my new age on the machine. I was only one day older but the machine assessed me as being a year older… and the peak acceptable heart rate (before flashing alarm) was lower. One day later and I was assessed as being less fit, less able to exercise and presumably less able to do lots of other things.

But I didn’t feel any different on Thursday than I had done the day before. I may have been older but fortunately I didn’t feel any less fit…but nor do I feel any wiser. I don’t have any better insight. But also I don’t feel any less energetic or enthusiastic. I don’t feel any less able or less motivated. Less driven nor less passionate. It’s only a number and it’s only a day. It’s all in the mind. And I don’t mind.

I also realised that Wednesday was a special day to have a birthday. 12th December 2012…12/12/12. I wasn’t twelve years old, of course, but it was still an impressive date. I realised I have been waiting for this date for years – probably since 01/01/01. Some years ago, I looked to see if anyone famous shared my birthday – and the answer was yes – someone very famous. Frank Sinatra. But he died back in 1998!

Birthdays tend to be days when we look back and reminisce. I like to look back for two reasons only – to celebrate and to learn. Both these retrospections derive from the same philosophy…that we only ever realise how far we have come when we pause to look back where we have been.

My last year has been a year like no other. Well that’s a great start! It would be unexciting if any two years were the same. I am doing different things, with different people, in a different place and in a different way. Exciting things with outstanding people in superb locations. I have learned more in the past year than arguably I have learned in any other year. More about our industry, more about people and more about myself.

Undoubtedly there are things – events and actions that I would do differently…words I would say differently or not say at all…if I had chance again. But I can’t go back and change any of those things. All I can do is take that learning and take it all forward with me.

My next year will be like no other. I can’t predict the details. I can predict the bigger picture. It will be exciting and enthralling. There will be challenge and opportunity. Heartbreak and laughter. Good news and bad news. There will be more people. More celebration and more learning. And more elevated heart rates.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 29 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Numerical Advantage…

  1. Leslie says:

    Happy Birthday!!!

  2. “Golden Toe”,

    It turns out that my Aunt Alice’s birthday is also December 12th. She turned 92, is as sharp as a tack and just had her driver’s license renewed. We took her out for a nice lunch at a famous pizza restaurant in Brooklyn, New York. December 12th is also the feast day of Our Lady of Guadalupe. I know this because I went to Our Lady of Guadalupe School in Brooklyn for 1st through 8th grade. That’s probably more information than you needed! Happy birthday, and I hope you get to at least reach the age of Aunt Alice.

    – John

    • Steve Street says:

      John

      Great to hear from you and many thanks for the message. Its wonderful to hear about someone else with who I share my birthday.

      Cheers

      Steve

      p.s. Gloden Toe…those were great days weren’t they!

  3. Berend says:

    Happy Birthday, God bless you.

    Berend

  4. Judy Kay Moore says:

    What an uplifting message. I share your perspective on life….and birthdays.

Leave a Reply

