Time Flies…

It seems like only yesterday. My daughter was eleven and was about to move schools. In the UK, primary school is from age four to eleven and secondary is from eleven to eighteen. She worked hard and well, passed all the necessary exams and was ready to start secondary school.

And when I say ready – I really mean ready. At eleven she was emotionally, physically and intellectually ready to move on. In every sense of the word she was ready…ready to leave primary school behind. She was ready to start the next chapter of her life.

It was the hardest thing my wife, my son (who was at the same primary school) and me, had ever had to do. The hardest thing since the last hardest thing we had ever had to do. It felt hard; it looked hard; it was hard. For us.

I knew the move was not easy for my daughter – the move from people and a place she knew well, she understood and she loved – to people she did not know and a place she had only visited twice. But it looked easy. For her the transition seemed effortless. She immediately seemed brighter and energised and engaged. She was even more beautiful. She went to secondary school and never looked back.

She made friends quickly. She learned rapidly. She matured swiftly. When she smiles…people smile back. When she laughs, people laugh with her. She talks and we listen. She worked hard. She chose her courses. She excelled in her exams. She selected her University.

And now. Today. She is ready again. It is her time. This is her moment. She has left school. She has left home. Our last act was to bring her here to her chosen University.  We packed her cases. We held her hand. We dropped her off. We hugged her tightly. We waved goodbye. We cried silent tears. They haven’t stopped.

She is eighteen. She is no longer a child and no longer at school. She is even brighter – she lights up a room. She is even more beautiful – she lights up our lives. She has grown – she is a young woman. We are so excited for her. We are so proud of her. We can’t believe she has gone. She is with us in our hearts.

Time flies so quickly. It was only yesterday we brought her home from hospital. It was only this morning she went to primary school. The memories are so vivid. The feelings are so real. The emotion is so intense.

We are there for each other. We think about her. We reassure each other. Everything we see reminds us of her. All the time. We devour her text messages. We can’t wait for FaceTime. We are so excited for her. We are so proud of her.

I focus on my work. I am passionate about our work. It is what we do. It is what I do. It is consumes my time and my energy: my commitment and my endeavour. But it is not who I am.

My work inspires me. I work with people who show passion and desire. People I work with inspire me and engage me. People who make a difference to each other and to the science we do. People who want to do and deliver more. People who care.

But first and foremost I am a father. I am a husband. And I am a friend. I hope to be of importance to many. But I know I am essential to three. Their love is unconditional. Mine is immeasurable and unending.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Time Flies…

  1. Brown, Nigel K. says:

    I’m proud to work alongside you, Steve. You speak from the heart about the passion and pride you have for family and work, and it continually motivates me to know I am surrounded at Covance by people who care. Good luck to your daughter (although I doubt luck will play a large part in her inevitable success!) and continued strength to you and your blog. Best wishes,

    Nigel.

    _____

    • Steve Street says:

      Nigel

      I really appreciate you taking the time to read and comment. You are absolutely correct that people who care – at home and work – make so many things we are involved in so good and so enjoyable.

      Cheers, and thanks again

      Steve

  2. Jernigan, Ann says:

    Thanks Steve. I like this message.

    Ann

  3. Bonebabe says:

    Lovely post… You have brought a little tear to my eye first thing on a monday morning!

    It sounds as though your daughter will thrive at university just a she did at secondary school. Best of luck to her.

    • Steve Street says:

      Hi there – I really appreciate you taking the time to comment. In many ways it was such a tough weekend and such a tough blog to write, but then again it was also a wonderful weekend and an amazing blog to write.

      Cheers

      Steve

  4. dr.david.roblin@gmail.com says:

    Proud moments. Well done- allow yourself a pat on the back.
    Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device

  5. Leslie Sloan says:

    I know you are so proud, and how it seems impossible that 18 years have passed! We have only two years and we will be there, and I expect it will be exciting and scary for all of us. It would be great to talk sometime, I will be in UK the last weekend in Sep and in France Oct 1-Dec 22. I am glad but not surprised that work is well. Take care, Leslie

    • Steve Street says:

      Leslie

      Exciting and scary in equal measures and to unbelievable levels – that would just about sum last weekend up!

      Great to hear from you and great to hear that work is going so well – no suprise but great to hear!

      Cheers

      Steve

  6. Megan Robinson says:

    Feeling empty nest must be tough, I always thought I would be glad to reclaim my “adult life” but now that my daughter is in high school and spends more and more time away from us, I’m already feeling a bit of loss of the family unit as it has been. Your note is a good reminder that while families change over time the baseline of connection and unconditional love remains.

  7. Graham Burns says:

    Wow!
    Great piece of writing from the heart.
    I wish all the best to your daughter, you and the rest of your family.

    Cheers
    Graham

  8. Alan Newton says:

    A wonderful piece of heart-felt writing that sums up perfectly one of life’s crossroads.
    You really should consider collating your blogs into a book – They’re always a great read.
    Best wishes, Alan

Leave a Reply

