Energy Time…

I chose this week to focus much of my energy on time. Or maybe I chose to focus much of my time on energy. Two weeks ago I had a month to sort everything out before I start my new role. A month felt like a long time. I now have two weeks. Two weeks feels like no time at all.

The link between time and energy is simple but vital. I need to prioritise my time and I want to be energised. If I have enough energy for something, I will find a way to make time for it!

I began by thinking about accommodation. When I start my new role I will necessarily be in rented accommodation. I thought logically. I thought about rooms, about location, about furniture, and even about the quality of the shower.  But when I had opportunity on Thursday to visit potential apartments available to rent I immediately realised that my decision was going to be exclusively visceral. Simply put – did I feel energised by the space? Or was it draining?

My decision then became straightforward. Even the agent who was showing me round (and who I had never met before) told me he knew which two (out of twelve) properties I was interested in because of my body language, my facial expression…my energy levels. The apartment I selected was uplifting and inspiring. It would be a place to look forward to. To spend time in. To relax in. To be energised by.

My focus moved to travel. When I start my new role I will necessarily have to travel more. Significant travel is only possible if it is a positive. It can’t be a drain. I plan my travel time. I work out what I can do with that time that I could not do otherwise. I write presentations. I review proposals. I assess options. I think. I (try to) do crossword puzzles. I watch films. Films that make me laugh. Films I know my family would not be interested in seeing.

If I am driving I upload new music and I download podcasts. Songs and stories; artists and articles. I sing (badly) and I listen (diligently). I think. Cell phones and headsets allow me to communicate and so I call people I need to talk to…and colleagues I have not had chance to connect with for a while. The drive may not ever excite me…but I can look forward with anticipation and backward with satisfaction. I can arrive energised.

My focus moved to people. I have told many people about my new role. I tell the story in such a way to try to ensure it is positive and energising. It should be positive and energising because that is how I feel. I start by saying how excited I am…what an amazing role. I describe an opportunity I never dreamed could exist nor dared to imagine could come my way.

By the time (every time) I get round to providing detail of the role (who, what and where) the only possible response from whoever I am telling is positive and excited. Indeed, sometimes I haven’t even been asked about how I feel about leaving my old role, or whether we will have to relocate. Moreover I always leave those conversations energised – with new ideas and more thoughts than I had beforehand.

And this is the reason why I focus time on energy. And why I seek out and spend time with people who energise me. It is uplifting. It is infectious. It is engaging. Ideas appear. Options simplify. Enjoyment increases. Opportunities crystallise. Solutions clarify.

Cheers

Steve

About Steve Street

I have worked in R&D within the Pharmaceutical industry for over 32 years. Up until April 2012 all of my career had been with one company, but that has now changed. I left that company and took up a new role on May 1, 2012 - still very much within the Pharmaceutical industry and again based in the UK. I have been blogging every week now for over 9 years but only on an external site since January 2012. Email updates of the blogs can be requested using the ‘follow’ option within Wordpress. The blogs are only ever my personal view of what I see, think and feel. I am delighted if you agree and find value; happy if you disagree with my views and overjoyed if you feel motivated to comment. Most of all I am simply grateful that you read. Cheers Steve
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

